Nottinghamshire Billiards and Snooker Association

Trevor Steeples Trophy

The 2019-20 Trevor Steeples Trophy

The Trevor Steeples Trophy was contested at Spot On Cue Sports, Sneinton, on August 16th 2020.

The competition ran in group stages followed by knockout from quarter finals onwards. Tournament director Rob Garratt doing a superb job setup an excellent field and ensure smooth running of the competition with all Covid-19 secure precautions. Many thanks from all the committee and players!

A full round-up of the results from CueScore can be found below; a strong field of 20 players forming 5 groups on the day.

Group A

Joe Reynolds secured progression to the QF by topping Group A undefeated. Qualifying in second place was Wayne Martin, who ran in a classy 124 break in his fixture against Nick Sharp.

Group B

Toby Bowley topped the group undefeated securing the maximum 8 pts available to qualify for the QF stages. Unfortunately Adam Cupit had to withdraw at this stage and so the 3rd place player Steve Butler also progressed to the QF stages.

Group C

This group was closely fought, with Andy Teale and Ben Cooper qualifying for the QF stages both on 6 pts. At the final group round all matches held influence over who would progress, with Mohammed Shahed being unlucky to finish 3rd after solid performances in his matches. Andy Teale topped the group since ranking are decided on Points then Head-to-Head results with Andy having beaten Ben to decide the final group order.

Group D

Nav Hussain ran out convincing winner of Group D, securing the maximum 8 pts by winning all of his group fixtures. The competition for the second qualifying place was exceptionally close. At the end of the group stage Tony Morgan and Cary Davies were tied on 4pts each, meaning that once again Head-to-Head results came into play to decide the final ranking. On this basis Tony progressed to the QF having beaten Cary 2-0 in their fixture.

Roll of Honor

2013-14 Sean Hopkin
2014-15 Bash Maqsood
2015-16 Nav Hussain
2016-17 Joe Reynolds
2017-18 Bash Maqsood
2018-19 Nav Hussain
2019-20 Wayne Martin

L-R: Wayne Martin (Wnr), Tony Morgan (Rup)


QF1 saw Ben Cooper overcome Group A winner Joe Reynolds 2-1 to secure a SF spot. In QF2 Tony Morgan overcame Group B winner Toby Bowley 2-0 to setup a SF tie with Ben Cooper.

QF3 saw Wayne Martin overcome Group C winner Andy Teale 2-0. Producing a superb 105 break in the first frame of this match, which was beautifully constructed by cherry picking the reds in the correct order to rack up his second ton of the day. QF4 saw Group D winner Nav Hussain prevail over Steve Butler to setup a SF clash with the in form Wayne Martin.


In SF1 Tony Morgan ran out a 2-0 winner over Ben Cooper with some solid scoring and match play. SF2 was a closely fought game with Wayne Martin prevailing over Nav Hussain in the deciding frame 2-1.


The final was contested between Tony Morgan and Wayne Martin on Table 9. Wayne running out the winner 2-0 playing with a strong combination of solid scoring and granite match play to secure the title and a place at the season ending champion of champions. Congratulations Wayne!